ZDRASTVOOCHYA

Hello world! I only have 10 minutes left, so I need to type fast. I have so much to say and so little time.

The MTC is pretty much the greatest place on earth, besides Russia, obviously. I cannot tell you how much Russian I have learned in just a week. Studying is my new best friend. We work hard and the Lord, in turn, blesses us with the ability to teach people the gospel. It is just that simple. I am so blessed to have the greatest companions in the world. That’s right, we’re in a tri-panionship. It makes learning a foreign language a lot less daunting.

Our Zone is the best in the MTC. I kid you not, we are the most righteous. Well, we’re working on our humility. But, other than that, we rock at getting noticed by the MTC president all the time.

One of the companionships in our Zone had the HILARIOUS (cough, cough, sarcasm) idea of pretending that one of them was Russian for entirely last week. We seriously thought he didn’t speak a lick of English, and so every time he’d ask about our hobby or interests, or something that had to be explained beyond our Russian ability, we would act it out, or speak really loudly, or have one of his companions tell him what we were saying. And then the day before they left, he came into our classroom and started giving us advice on how to survive he MTC. I was angry, and then it made me laugh so hard. He said that every time he would speak a ton of russian to confuse us he was reciting the First Vision. That was the funniest part. It made it all worth it.

Another funny thing that happened was when one of my companions and I were putting cream cheese on our bagels in the cafeteria. It is often jokles about the way elders and sisters interact here at the MTC. Well one elder decided it would be funny to have a slapping hand fight with a sister who was also getting a bagel beside us. They were hard core flirting and Sister Robinson and I say in our finest Russian accents, “OCHIN NEELSYAH!” Which means Very much forbidden. hahahaha.

Favorite scripture of the week would have to be 2 Nephi 31:2-21. The Gospel is true, and the book is blue.

While we may not speak fluent Russian yet, my companions and I do speak in fluent movie quotes. Whenever the Elders in our district are sad, we often cheer them up with a bit of Nacho Libre, or Hot Rod. Maybe even some singing of Les Mis.

One of the coolest things we get to do is sing all of our hymns in russian. It is one of the ways we feel the spirit so strongly here.

Anyways, I’ve used up all my time! Love you all! I will try to write more next week and send more pictures! Email me, please! It helps to read things when I’m sad.

Dasvidanya,

-Cectpa Hansen

Leave a Reply

